Cherry veneer tabletop

This is my first post. I’m a total amateur, but I managed to make a beautiful tabletop using cherry veneer. My daughter collects protection symbols and chose the “helm of awe” along with some Celtic knots to decorate the top of a dining room table. I purchased a dark wood table on amazon that has a leaf that collapses into the middle for storage. I’m quite pleased with the result, though there are some seams and imperfections where I measured incorrectly, though I don’t think they are too obvious.
:upside_down_face:

I’m trying to figure out whether I can seal it in some way to protect the edges and the engraved parts (which are all but cut through to show the dark wood underneath). Any thoughts? I tested using table top epoxy but it doesn’t adhere well to the veneer.

38 Likes

How lovely and unique! :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

Thank you! I’m so amazed by what the Glowforge can do!

3 Likes

If you have any other color veneer, you could try inlaying between the seams so they aren’t as pronounced. Even if you used the same color and cut out designs to inlay in-between the seams, that would be neat, too.

Really cool project, and jealous of the amount of veneer you have!

2 Likes

Wow, amazing project! You must have used the passthrough. It came out great!

I’m thinking you are going to have to do some experimenting to get the finish you want (and I really do think it needs to be sealed). I wonder if a spray sealer of some type between the veneer and the table epoxy would help? It might be a surface tension thing that would be solved by having something different to cling to.

3 Likes

Welcome. Great job on this project.

1 Like

@cynd11 I think you’re exactly right that it’s a surface tension thing with the epoxy! I also did a veneer panel for a side table and even using a silicone squeegee to spread it smoothly it didn’t adhere to some spots.