Cooking ideas

Here’s my stats to start with.
Order Date: 10/6/15
notification email: 10/5/17
proofgrade email: 10/16/17
proofgrade materials arrived: 10/20/17
:glowforge: shipping email: 10/21/17
:glowforge: to arrive: 10/24/17

For the past 2 years, from the moment I placed my order, I have been scouring the internet for patterns/plans, materials, software, and ideas. See, I have absolutely NO creative talent, but I can identify useful items and I can follow directions exactly.

I have never used a laser cutter before, so I am truly a novice. I suppose the good part of that is that I go in with no pre-conceived ideas.

I like to bake which also requires the following of very specific and intricate directions, so I figure this will serve me well.

IDEAS: One of the ideas that I saw on the original :glowforge: video is that it is food grade and will allow me to essentially “print” on my food. I’m thinking of using this on double crust pies, like apple. I figure something like a custom image, logo, or wording in the center as a vent instead of just a couple of slits.

I’m also thinking of custom stencils for things that would be topped with powdered sugar, cocoa, or cinnamon. Possibly putting mini-logos or initials, etc on small candies like M&M’s, Skittles, & Reeces Pieces.

Potential issues: Cooking the dough prematurely around the edges, may not be an issue, but we will find out when mine arrives. Melting of the chocolate in the :glowforge:, not in my mouth. I’m sure for the candies, I will need to make a “tray/jig” to hold them.

I’m also thinking of cooking a sheet of shortbread cookies and then using the :glowforge: to cut them into seasonal shapes. This may cause a lot of waste, but I’m not sure if it would work well by cutting the raw dough before baking. I suppose I will have to try it both ways.