Corel Draw Question

I am new to Corel Draw, but up to now I have been able to figure out how to do most of what I have tried to do. I am trying to do a combination engrave and score on a bamboo cutting board. Here is a picture of what I am trying to do. I don’t know how I did it, but I can’t seem to repeat it on another board. You can see the score around the engraved text.

Here is what the Glowforge UI looks like for this project.

Tracie 11

This is what the UI looks like for the cutting board that I am working on.

I am not able to put a score around the text like I did on the first one…

15 Likes

That looks correct. You’ll engrave the text, then score it, then engrave the flowery parts.

1 Like

That is just beautiful!

Here’s the trick to doing both an engrave and a score:

1. Create the shapes. Give them a Fill Color and no stroke color.
  2. Duplicate the shapes, right on top of the originals. For the duplicates, give them NO fill color, and a different Stroke color.

When you save the file as an SVG, you will get two sets of operations, one that will let you engrave the shapes, and one that will let you set a Score around them, once you change it from a Cut.

9 Likes

When you are scoring around an engrave, you need to duplicate the object. The object you want engraved is filled, but no path around it defined in a color. Then the duplicated object is not filled and just has a path of any color that you choose. You can’t just put a colored path around a different colored fill. It defaults to cut.

Make sure the two objects are on top of each other exactly. So in your case your text looks like it will engrave then score, and then the flowers engrave then score although I can’t tell but it looks like the floral decoration score is not the whole design of the flowers.

5 Likes