Creating a Cut Line Around a Logo with Inkscape

Let me start out by saying, even though this is my first time posting, I am so thankful for this community!! I got my Glowforge back in October and have been self-teaching myself Inkscape and this community has been life saving for me. However, I have finally come across a project I can’t figure out despite scouring the community posts and hours of trying to get it to work. I have a file from a customer in jpg format. I need to engrave the logo and also be able to cut out around the logo. I have tried various tutorials posted on the community but still cannot find a way to cut around the logo. I can get each individual part of the logo to have a vector line around it but now around the whole shape. Any suggestions?

What material are you working with? What is your vision for the final product? A single engraved sheet? A back panel with attached parts?

There are many ways this could be converted to a physical object. Knowing your desired outcome would help.

2 Likes

Thanks for your reply! The end goal is a leather patch. So the logo would be engraved on leather and then cut out following the shape of the logo.

OK, afraid I can’t help you there, other than throw out ideas.

Leather is not an easy material to work with. I’d be inclined to consider embroidery for a design like this.

That said, you could engrave the design, using the pattern or dots settings to make the blue parts lighter, then create a larger cut outline that could be sewn onto (whatever). That would likely be easiest done by hand. Given the shape, it might be easier to stick with basic geometry…

1 Like

Is this kinda what you were trying to do?
logo
If so i might be able to walk you through how i did it.

@primal_healer very similar but I was hoping to have the outline follow the shape of the logo like it does in this picture.

Could that still be done in a similar way to how you created this one?