Crumb tray question

This isn’t really a problem that I’m having, it’s more of an observation and question.

Why isn’t there a switch in the UI to say if you’re using the crumb tray or not?

1. Flip switch indicating the crumb tray removed.
  2. Popup box asks for material height input
  3. Another popup gives you the correct height spacer you need, or maybe you don’t need to set the right focus height.

This would be a simple program change, and I say “simple” because I’m a programmer and not because I just think it would be something simple to do. I could make that change in any of the UI’s I’ve developed in my plant in less than an hour. Of course, there is probably a QA process to validate the change, so it would take a couple days, but this is super low hanging fruit that could make some peoples experience with the laser much better.

8 Likes

If it’s not on their “Feature List” this should be :slight_smile:

However, even if they did this, you may still need to build some risers, as the laser can only change focus so much…

3 Likes

Wouldn’t need a switch. The unit could check if the crumbtray was there with the height scanner. Though that would add a few seconds to the process. The head might not need to move since it is already above the tray. Agreed that a S/W change would be fairly straight forward. But for what ever reason the simplest of changes occur at a glacial pace. I’m not looking over their shoulder so it would be foolish to speculate as to why. I quit expecting quick changes a year ago. I’m going to have fun using my laser that looks just like the one in the marketing.

7 Likes

Well, that +/- 1/2 inch is kind of etched in stone, so allowing the number to be bigger would not solve much.

As a workable feature, I imagine some creative programming could make it happen. Worth a feature request.
There are a few things still not completed that were already on the listing, so even if accepted it will be awhile.