Custom Case for a Portion Scale

It seems I have one basic design in my head and I keep using that for lots of projects.

I have a portion control scale that I use mostly when I am baking bread. As a good digital calipers helps your Glowforge projects, so does a good, precise scale. I have my bread recipes on spreadsheets that use baker’s percentages, measuring in grams. It really is important since after the quality of the flour, getting the hydration correct for what you are making is so so important.

I have been keeping the scale in the original box for the past six years. The scale is still precise and in good condition. But the box is getting beat up and it is one more step, literally, in the baking process since I have to walk over to the pantry to fetch it.

Now I have a place for it to live in my measurement drawer right below my marble slab where I make the bread. It’s now living next to my knife sharpening stuff, and other measurement devices, including lots of 3D printed funnels, a mason jar airlock and sauerkraut submerger, and other bits and bobs. I do have to organize this drawer a bit. Most importantly get my @markevans36301 sharpening stone hung on a holster on the wall like it deserves next to my magnetic knife rack.

I can’t emphasize how useful learning Onshape has been for me. Literally five minutes to opening up the program and uploading a perfect part in the Printer. It just fit within my Prusa MK2 when skewed diagonally on the bed. I used KiriMoto to slice to svgs for the top and bottom. No adjustments needed. Did a prototype in cardboard and then did the final print without having to change anything. Always think of @henryhbk when I use Onshape and KiritMoto because he introduced me to it.

Getting the design on top of the lid was the longest part.

I wanted some type of balance scale on the front, but getting a good unencumbered vector is a challenge. So I went to Cusack’s Freehand Ornaments and did a convert bitmap to paths in Inkscape.