Cutting a stack of cardstock

This may have been asked and answered, but has anyone successfully cut through a stack of cardstock to minimize time & workload?

I am an invitation designer by trade - I bought the glowforge for value added services to my business, one being custom laser invites. Before I make this attempt, I wanted to check to see if anyone has done this

1 Like

I’ve never seen anyone mention it specifically.

In general, layers increase fire risk. If you try it, I’d keep an eye on it.

1 Like

That being said: if you keep the layers tight you’ll probably be ok. Let us know what your testing yields.

2 Likes

I believe I read somewhere that layering paper was responsible for more fires being set in lasers than anything else.

And it might void the warranty. :neutral_face:

I sure as hell wouldn’t do it - I’ve seen what happens when a single layer of masking gets away from you, catches, and winds up in the exhaust fan.

7 Likes

See above, RE:

Don’t let bits fly around, use perforation tabs if you have to. Then again, I don’t do a ton of paper, so don’t listen to me and be careful.

I wonder if you could pump nitrogen into the 'forge, to displaces the oxygen? might be a little dangerous though.

you’d have to pump a lot in, considering the internal fan is running 200 CFM and there is not a lot of volume inside of the GF.

i would avoid stacking paper. both because of the increased fire risk everyone above has mentioned, but i’m going to presume you’ll also get a lot more char on the edges as well. in the end, any air in between the sheets is going to potentially introduce flame. even if the paper doesn’t catch on fire, it’s going to scorch more.

4 Likes

I had similar thoughts because you’d have to overpower the cuts.