Cutting boxes with printing on it

Just curious if I need to be concerned with cutting used cardboard with printed stuff on it? (eg moving boxes, amazon boxes etc.)

2 Likes

Personally, I vote no. Its just not that much glue/sticker. But thats just my gut feel. I have no major experience with it.

2 Likes

No issues with cutting shipping boxes. I guess thereā€™s a remote chance that the inks have some bad emissions when burned but the likelihood is extraordinarily remote and there is no way to find out without test lab access and thereā€™s no reason for the box maker or shipper to do that.

Considering the extremely limited amount of it that youā€™re actually burning Iā€™d be more worried about tripping on the stairs on the way to the laser. (Trips & falls are now the leading cause of accidental death and 4th leading cause overall - in the US anyway.)

7 Likes

Thatā€™s good news. :slight_smile: I kinda figured that was the case but just wanted to double check!!

HAHA!!

Good point with the glue. Iā€™ll just avoid those areas of the boxes!! :slight_smile:

1 Like

Surplus cardboard boxes are the test loads of laser cutters. I try to always run new designs on cardboard (low power, high speed) to make sure Iā€™ve closed all my engraves and size & position are all good. Then one on the target material for power/speed testing and finally the real thing. Amazon is very helpful in supplying raw materialsšŸ˜ƒ

3 Likes

Just be aware of how many different types of cardboard exist. Some will laser flawlessly. Some could even be used as your end-product. Some burst into fire upon glancing at your laser.