Cutting Images - JPEG

Hello All,
I am trying to cut a cake-topper and Glowforge is telling me that “jpeg images cannot be cut”. I am a total beginner with any/all graphic design software but I have downloaded GIMP and InkScape. Can anyone give me a quick tutorial on how to convert this image so that it will CUT on the outlines of all letters?
Thanks!

2 Likes

You must convert your image to a vector for the Glowforge to cut. You might give this program a try: https://www.vectorizer.io/

2 Likes

Yes, that worked! Thanks so much! What an easy trick!

Also worth learning about inkscape tracing. Search the forum for it, there are lots of posts about it.

https://community.glowforge.com/search?q=inkscape%20trace%20bitmap

1 Like

Thank you!

1 Like

The quick way do it in inkscape is to…
Import the file by dragging it into inkscape or selecting File>Import and bringing it in that way.

Once you have it on the bed select the image and press Path>Trace to bitmap.

That will bring up this screen, you will want to click Live Preview so you can see what tweaking the settings is doing.

You will need to play around with the settings till you get something you are happy with. If it is just a simple black and white image like this having it set to Brightness Cutoff usually works best. i turn the value up till it all goes black then turn it down till the black speckles around the image all go away.

Once you get it looking good (keep in mind it wont look as pixelated as it looks in the preview because smoothing in on by default) you will want to check the box labeled Remove Background and click OK at the bottom right.