Delrin Multi-tool

Well, I’ve been making a lot of items, but not posting, so I thought it was time. I’ve been doing a lot of decorative items such as this one - Asian Crane Door Holder which started as wood, then acrylic and then thin Delrin. It needed to glide better and still be tough enough for sleepy heads who forget to slide it before opening. The better design might cover the latch pull.

This time, I finished my sailor’s multi-tool. I love Delrin. I’m also experimenting on some Scow parts to reduce weight and friction.

38 Likes

Nice job! I have never used delrin before, is it less brittle than acrylic that’s why you chose that material, or are there other reasons?

1 Like

Just great!
If you don’t mind sharing, what did you paint with?

1 Like

Very cool tools! You’ve inspired me to give Delrin another try.

1 Like

I have a 1/4” thick square of black delrin that is untouched. This is a good idea.

2 Likes

Yes, it’s commonly used in place of metal in many applications - the gears in small kitchen appliances or power tools, for example. It’s also the DuPont brand name for the material - acetal (Polyoxymethylene POM) resin.

5 Likes

This is just awesome! I love tools! (Obviously! I have a laser.) :smile:

2 Likes

I just can’t tell you how inspiring that Multi-tool is! Great design, a very good presentation on your web page.

I can see lifting the concept with different sized wrenches/tools for other hobbies. Nothing new about muti-tools but making it light and rustproof by making it from Delrin is inspired.

3 Likes

Love both of these items in Delrin. The tool is very cool!

From my last job … I positively love white Delrin. It is always a beautiful end product!

1 Like

I would say a version for on-the-road bicycle repair would be nifty. :glowforge::sunglasses:

4 Likes