Do I trust the ground tester?

I’ve yet to use my glowforge because we’ve been dealing with grounding issues. We have an old house (built in 1948) and started off by replacing the 2-prong outlet in our GF room with a 3-prong outlet, as we’ve done for other outlets throughout the house. As a novice, I thought this update meant we were now grounded. When my husband replaced the outlet, he informed me that there was no 3rd green grounding wire, so sadly this did not mean the outlet was grounded. He did point out that our fuse box does have a ground wire coming from it, so there must be some aspect of ground to work with. Our next thought was to probably hire an electrician to hook up grounding wire to this outlet…

In the meantime, though I bought the $6 ground tester everyone suggested here: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0012DHVQ0/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 and lo and behold the outlet in question tested CORRECT! After digging online a bit more, I read that:

“metal boxes attached to armored, or BX, cable—a type of wiring commonly found in old houses—generally are grounded; the cable’s flexible metal jacket serves the same purpose as a dedicated ground wire.”

Does this sound like why my outlet (w/ no 3rd green grounding wire) is testing as CORRECT?
And if so, does that mean I should be good to go?

That is very possible that it is grounded because of the armored cable. Is the wire in your house covered in a metal sleeve?
The tester is probably correct. But you really should run a bare wire from a screw in the box to the green screw on the receptacle.

1 Like