Does Anyone know if PET Glitter Cardstock is dangerous to cut in the Glowforge?

Hey! I’m pretty new to Glowforge and wanted to make glitter cake toppers, the manufacturer of my glitter card stock says its made from paper board, PET glitter and is acid free and eco-friendly… The glitter is non-shed and doesn’t flake at all, does anyone know if this would damage my machine or release dangerous fumes? Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

Welcome to the forum.
I think you are safe to cut glitter cardstock.

2 Likes

PET is basically polyester in sheet form instead of thread form. I can’t say how well it may or may not cut, but unless it catches fire, it’s not going to hurt your machine.

4 Likes

Thank you so much!!!

Sorry just had another question, I been reading up online before that PET or PETE releases cyanide gas. Do you know if that’s true for this? Thanks in advance!!

1 Like

Respond with some pointers to the references?

PET is (C10H8O4). Hydrogen Cyanide gas is HCN. PET has H and C, but it does not contain Nitrogen. But I’m not enough of a chemist to say if it will combine with Nitrogen in the air to form HCN when it burns. I’m guessing the answer might be “yes, it can” given your comment above. But HCN is itself very flammable, so if it’s being produced by a fire it’s probably also being consumed by that fire.

That being said, there’s very little you can run through a laser cutter that doesn’t produce fumes that are very unhealthy to breath. And there are many other commonly lased materials that can produce HCN when burned, like cotton and many synthetic rubbers.

If your laser cutter is properly vented outside, and the smoke isn’t blowing in to the window of your neighbor’s house, I wouldn’t worry about it too much.

4 Likes