Don't be afraid of the score

As much as we love engraving, don’t be afraid to try score for line art, sometimes it is the best.

58 Likes

I completely agree. It just makes such fine dark lines

6 Likes

Looks great! I have never used a laser before but, being someone who designs mostly vector artwork, I expect to score more often than engrave but time will tell.

7 Likes

It certainly looks amazing!

2 Likes

That turned out great! (And I like the monkey.) :grin:

2 Likes

It’s really fast too!

3 Likes

To me, it is just a bonus. When an engrave looks significantly better it is time well used. After these successful experiments though I will try both where there is any question about which will work best.

3 Likes

Those look great! Honestly, I had forgotten completely about scoring until I made that gift tag yesterday evening. So much faster, and looks good, win win.

2 Likes

This is All scoring? Monkey and text? Looks so much like an engrave as to depth but precise like a score. Amazing.

2 Likes

Nikko is 100% scored. The lettering is engraved. Yes, turned out much better than I imagined.

3 Likes

For the right kinds of line images (not too much complexity or too many sharp curves) scores may also be massively faster than engraves for the same size.

2 Likes

Less fine but equally dark lines if you defocus it. Then the line is thicker if that’s what you want.

4 Likes

Trying to find the old Score commercial.

“I used to play in the greasebowl,
when I was just a kid,
too young to know,
Score’s the only one for me.
Just mix it with some water
and your hair holds
like it ought’r.
Oh baby, that’s the Score,
that’s the Score,
that’s the Score!”

Just imagine the subtext in this product and the publicity.

This one will do.

2 Likes

Yes, massive for some things.

How did you get the score so dark and the lines seem nice and wide? Is it just the image you chose? New to forging!

1 Like