Electrostatic loudspeakers

Disclaimer: Do not attempt to build your own unless you are comfortable working with high voltages. There is information to be found online and in books on how to properly build should you wish, this is not intended as a guide in any form.

For anyone not familiar with Electrostatic Loudspeakers, here is a good overview:

Maybe my most ambitious Glowforge project to date? These are now my third and likely last set of electrostatic loudspeakers (ESL). The first set I built when I was 18. They were full range monsters with 6’x2’ of radiating area. The sound was magical, but just not practical for a kid still living at home and getting ready for college. I built a second set 15 years ago, about a year prior to the birth of my first child. These were also massive full range panels, not something that exactly blends in with typical room décor even though I did attempt more that time. I am a hobbyist electronics enthusiast and not an electrical engineer. I was not comfortable with the exposed high voltage on the bare stators and the thought of curious little fingers scared me, so they were also discontinued.