Engrave by Color Default Shades

Just a quick example of a 3D engrave on proofgrade using the default shade options. I was curious how differently they would come out. These are all straight from the forge, and will likely look a bit clearer with some cleanup and the tape removed. Print size was small too, about 2"x1.5"

Source

57 Likes

The middle one came out great!

4 Likes

You can clean some of the charring off the third one, which should make it look great! I use a tooth brush.

5 Likes

Yeah the first one, I am not sure what happen, perhaps it’s just the art but that setting seems useless. Second one is closest to my expectations. Third should look nice with a bit of a wash. I’m a total laser newb, but it seems like all 3 could benefit from more lines per inch as well. Maybe because im printing small? Not sure.

5 Likes

I saw similar issues with that lightest setting barely making it through the masking paper. Someone suggested that they got good results with it on unmasked material, but I haven’t tried that yet myself.

1 Like

Interesting, thats prob a bug then since its proofgrade and I would think the defaults should get through the tape. @Rita is this a known issue?

1 Like

I haven’t found that lightest setting to be terribly useful. It’s only 75LPI. I mostly choose manual LPI settings to get a bit more flexibility in color.

5 Likes

The LPI on the lightest setting is pretty low (75LPI). I had good success choosing the middle option, going to manual engrave and upping the LPI.

2 Likes

Yeah I may have to start tinkering with that, as I said I am a total laser newb and trying to see how things work out of the box before I start to introduce the chaos of misunderstanding haha.

5 Likes

I hear ya! FWIW I was a complete laser newbie before I got the Pre-Release unit. It won’t take long before you are an expert!

2 Likes

so, this is a fun demo and all, and i’m happy to blame the source or whatever,

but…