Engrave Handwritten Recipe

Hello I’m new to GF and I wasn’t quite sure where to post this question, if its the wrong section in advance I apologize. I’ve engraved a cutting board before(thank you for the help) my cousin saw it and it gave her the idea to want an engraved cutting board for her husband. It’s his birthday and she wants to give it to him at a gift with his grandmother’s recipe to his favorite cake(Red Velvet). It’s an old handwritten recipe. Do I engrave or trace? I did search this and came across the gentleman who did his mom’s old recipe. However it was clear exactly what he did. Here’s a picture. HELP!

3 Likes

Hi, and welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

For the future Problems & Support is for asking the company for help - everything else, goes into Everything Else :slight_smile:

So, if you’ve read the other posts about doing this you’ll know it’s not easy. You’re going to need a graphics program (I use getpaint.net, but any raster editing program will work.) To remove the paper, and try to pop up the text you’ll need to mess with brightness/contrast, and colour.

Give me a few and I’ll get you started :slight_smile:

Once you have good art it’ll be an engrave - it’ll take a while to engrave over so much area so be prepared!

2 Likes

Thank you. I use Affinity Photo to edit photos and right now I’m in the process of doing that. I’ve sharpened the clarity, bringing up the resolution. I figure from previous comments about this I’ll need to make the photo black and white.

1 Like

Hello,

I tried cleaning up the image a little for you. I’m not confident that this image can be turned into an image that would engrave cleanly. Is it possible that the sender could take another photo with more light on it?

1 Like

Try these. I like V3 better than V2 despite technically being not as clear.

V2

V3

8 Likes