Engraving on ghost leather/white wax leather

Are there any leather crafters out there that know if ghost leather/white wax leather will engrave well? It’s only veg tan leather, so I know it can engrave well, but I’m worried about the wax layer on top and how well it will react with the laser. I’m worried it won’t look good, and I would really like to know before I spend $100 on the leather. I couldn’t find any info online, so hopefully someone here can help me out.

It’ll probably be fine if you mask it.

I was thinking that, but I’m also worried that the masking will pull off the wax because there are a lot of leathers that the masking pulls off some of the finish. The wax is supposed to wear off over time, but I feel the masking might pull it off awkwardly. I have never worked with it before so it’s hard to say.

If you mean waxed “pull-up leather”, I haven’t done any white, but I’ve done other colors and it worked fine. I don’t mask it and just use a good leather condition to clean off the soot.

No, there is a leather on Rocky Mountain Leather website called Ghost Buttero, but they have other brands that I think just call it white wax leather. It’s a veg tan leather that has a layer of white wax on top that is meant to wear off slowly over time building a really pretty patina. So I don’t knowhow this wax will react to the laser.

have you considered asking them to send you a small scrap sample that you can test on?

2 Likes