Engraving on polished stone... I don't want it white?

Hi all,

any pros out there engraving polished stones? I’m engraving polished agate and my vision was that it would leave the color of unpolished stone… instead it is white?? I was hoping for the image to be subtle. I’m a total laser newbie, so any feedback is appreciated if this is possible.

I haven’t tried this, but I suspect if you treat the engraved part with a clear liquid finish (like fingernail polish or varnish), it will become much more subtle. If you don’t want to get the clear finish on the rest of the stone, try masking the whole stone (painters tape works fine for this) before doing the engraving, then treat with clear finish before pulling off the masking.

thank you. i did try masking film and it did the same thing… white. are you saying treat the white with clear finish and it should ‘remove’ (lack of better terms) the white color?

I tried the clear polish… while it did dull it it still is not the natural unpolished look I’m hoping for. but, in the event this look isn’t possible with a laser and stone, THANK YOU…its WAY better than it was

I’m not an expert on the stone stuff by any means, so I’ll just throw ideas out. The stone is being bleached for the most part with very little surface removal. I have no idea how much color you’ll be able to retain, but I would start testing from the “bottom up” - using very low power and progressively testing higher and higher. You may be able to get a certain level of transparency that you’re looking for - somewhere between the base color of the stone and the opaqueness of a full-on engrave.

If that doesn’t work, maybe cutting stencils and sandblasting.

3 Likes