Engraving on Steel Tools?

My son wants me to engrave his name on his tools. They are black, heat treated CR-440 steel. It says in the description that there are laser etched markings on it. I’m not sure if I can post a link to a product in this forum so I won’t.

Will this work the same way it works with anodized aluminum, removing the black coating and exposing the steel? Is it even possible?

I am a newbie, less than 30 days in, so I appreciate any tips from anyone who has tried this.

Thank you!

If it’s a coated metal, you can certainly try to engrave away the coating. (Nothing against posting the link here…maybe someone has tried it.)

But, we can’t discuss settings for non-Proofgrade materials anywhere except in the Beyond the Manual section of the forum, and support doesn’t provide info on lasering non-PG materials. Do you want me to shift the post to the BTM section for you, to see if anyone else has tried it?

1 Like

Google shows several people have done it using CO2 lasers. You will need to run some testing to see what the best settings are, but it looks like it can be done.

I can’t remember anyone here posting about it.

2 Likes

Hi there - since your question is about materials that were purchased from another company, we can’t offer support on this. Materials may vary widely from piece to piece, even if they’re created by the same manufacturer. I’m going to move it to Beyond the Manual so other folks here can help. Should you have questions about Proofgrade Materials, please open a new ticket in Problems and Support and we’ll help you right away!

Thank you. Support moved it before I could respond.

Oh no problem, that’s what they have to do. :slightly_smiling_face:

Here is a link to the tools he wants me to engrave: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01IFSX9M4/ref=cm_sw_r_oth_api_fabt1_WE8VFbGEB5C8Y?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1