Error uploading file for engraving wood. Solved

Hello everyone. I am an illustrator and I mostly draw black and white inked drawings. Yesterday, I tried to import one of my drawing to engrave it on wood and it worked pretty well. Then I tried with a second one and I got an error message while uploading.

• It’s not a Glowforge problem since all other designs work.
  • Can it be the size ? Or too many elements ? (If yes is there a way to make it smaller or simpler ?)
  • Maybe the pdf format ? Files are in pdf but are vectorized via Illustrator and they kept the vector settings.

I have tried several things but they didn’t work. If anyone has an idea :slight_smile:

Edit : Solutions have been found. Thank you all so much :slight_smile:

Looks like it’s got too many nodes.

Edit - I was able to get it to upload, but it took several minutes to process before rendering.

Edit #2 - the largest node count I have previously been able to upload was 38,000. Couldn’t go higher than that. I had to simplify the file to reduce it down from much higher to get it to work. Your file has close to 40,000, so if you can simplify it just a little, you should be OK.

This forum section is for opening a support ticket, just FYI.

4 Likes

Oh okey right, I will place it somewhere else. Sorry i am new here.
Thank you very much for your answer.

• Is there a way to reduce the number of nodes ? (Does the “Simplify” feature in Illustrator allows that ?)
  • And how did you do to know how many are there ?

Edit : I have placed it in the “Everything Else section”. Sorry again for the inconvenience :slight_smile:

1 Like

That’s what it is called in Inkscape, so I suspect it is the same. You should have settings to control how “aggressive” it is so that it doesn’t impact the shapes significantly.

1 Like

Ah okey I see. I will try and see if it works.
Thanks a lot again.

1 Like

Also rasterizing would do the trick. Save your vector out as a high res png and it’ll load up just fine.