Family Cactus

I love layers! I worked with hand cut
paper and foam boards for depth and now….my GF!!

Wanted to make something special for my sisters 60th birthday. She adores her small little family and made a small family cactus for her office. I wanted to use the bright and bold colors reflected in her vibrant personality.

This piece too me over 30 hours to design using Illustrator from scratch, I’m a beginner, but does anyone know why when I use the shape builder it multiplies the shape? I learned the hard way that the glowforge will go over the shape that many times its multiplied and almost cause a fire! Luckily I was in awe watching the machine cut and noticed it cut the same shape 5 times in a row! I had to go back to all the layers and search for all the multiplied shapes.

Layered birch wood and alcohol based markers, sprayed with polyurethane.

100 Likes

That is absolutely beautiful! The colors are gorgeous! And I am sure that your sister will love it and will be so excited to display it in her office. Great job!

8 Likes

That’s just beautiful, i love how vibrant the whole piece is!

It has to do with exactly how your objects are stacked and whether they have strokes or not.
There’s ways to mitigate but generally a good idea to check what it’s done.

6 Likes

Thank you. My strokes are usually set to .25 on each shape. Should I take the strokes off completely
before I use the tool?

1 Like

This is beautiful! :slight_smile:

The multiple strokes when using shape builder have to do with fragmented layers being created as the shape builder tool breaks apart the original elements and creates a new one from the selected segments. This is especially problematic when you’re working with compound paths, as the shape builder tool does some odd things with the compounded path, oftentimes I will have to remove up to three additional layers before sending to the Glowforge.