First Board Game Attempt - Horse Race

This is my first attempt at a board game design. I’ve been wanting to make this forever, but just needed the Glowforge.

The board will fold in half and hold the horses, a pair of dice, and a deck of cards on the inside. I’m hoping to do this with different types of .25" thick wood and glue everything together. I want to use a butler hinge, I think that’s what its called, to make it fold flush. The first layer will be engraved with the board. The second layer of wood will have cutouts to hold magnets that the horses will be moved along. I’ve never done anything like this before. I work in solid models for 3d printers. I can’t wait to try my laser.

26 Likes

I like that idea! :grinning:

Looks awesome! Let me know what kind of hinge you end up using, I’ll probably want to use something similar in some of my designs.

2 Likes

I think something like this unless someone has a better option.

http://www.hardwaresource.com/hinges/furniture-hinges/butler-tray-table-hinge-502/butler-tray-table-hinge-1

2 Likes

I was looking at using these for my backgammon board, but I’ve not tried it yet.

http://www.leevalley.com/en/garden/page.aspx?p=41265&cat=3,41241

4 Likes

So one thing no one has really thought about because laser cutters haven’t been just around like popcorn: you could do really precise hinge mortises and starter holes for screws.

3 Likes

I’m modeling the whole thing 3d in solidworks, then I’ll slice it up for the laser. I’m hoping to only have to use a screw driver when I’m done to put it all together and not have to use a chisel or drill. Fingers crossed!

1 Like

These wouldn’t work well for me because I’m building my board in layers. But these are cool hinges.

I really like it.