First Project: Acrylic Insets & Acrylic Glue Tips

Hi- This is my first post. I’m brand new to using a Glowforge (arrived 2 weeks ago). This is my first real project after a couple of test prints. I’ve worked, previously, on a laser cutter in an academic setting. Back then I was playing around with insetting acrylic and I’m thrilled to jump in again. I’ve never done anything this complex before and I’m pretty happy with the results. Except…

In the past, all my insets were snug enough to rely on tension fitting. Unfortunately, the complexity of this design demands that I use glue which I’m dreading. Any tips on precision gluing would be appreciated.

42 Likes

Very Nice, love the colors.

3 Likes

Nicely done.

https://community.glowforge.com/search?q=weld%20on

3 Likes

Nice!
The acrylic solvent is difficult to get controlled placement without it getting where you don’t want it.ive had my best luck with a syringe. The goal would be to place it in the contact area, and let capillary action spread it.

5 Likes

Also have a way that any extra can drip away without running down any outside bit. When doing the sides of a box as example I make one corner the lowest point and where the sides come together at the bottom of a valley that way any place that does drip just leaves without making a mess.

Also I keep the stuff at as close to freezer temps as I can as it evaporates at room temps like it was almost boiling.

8 Likes

Yes, I crank that cap on the solvent down hard. That keeps it confined.

2 Likes