Full steampunk outfit I made everything!

Everything you see on this model I have made and/or designed myself. 95% of the glowforge.

Really pleased with myself, it’s not perfect, but this is the first time I have ever attempted anything like this. It was one of my reasons for buying a GF initially. I am a professional photographer and I had been looking to make props and costumes for photoshoots.

These are all phone photos, so excuse the potato quality.

There are two designs that are not made, credit goes to LostWax for the mechanical arm and flying helmet.

Everything else I designed (including the leggings). Mostly it was just riffing between inkscape and the GF. As a tool for just making things up it was brilliant.

95% of the materials are either MDF (draft board) or foam (either 2mm or 6mm) with a little bit of assorted 3mm acrylics thrown in here are there.

The helmet is all foam - all the “leather” is faked, hand painted foam.

The glasses are MDF and acrylic. The choker is foam and felt layered. The necklace is actually leather - the only bit!

The Unobtanium Capsule is all MDF and some dowel. Don’t like the paint colour on this one, but didn’t realise until too late. Putting together the sides into the top and bottom was a real fiddle, for the next one I’ll work out a way that’s easy that joining 8 tabs in a circle! The lid twists open and is for hiding 21st century belongings like drinks bottle.

There are a couple of other versions of the arm that have been posted recently, mine is not as complete as theirs. This is a LostWax design that I’ve tweaked.

Incidentally, important PDF page by page into Inkscape was much easier and less tedious than I expected.

The Opto-Sensor is made out of layers, this let me put lots of relief into the piece. The glass and dial are set back into the face. The viewfinder goes all the way through.