Geometric beast

A couple of stats: 360 faces, 540 connectors, 2.5 hours of weeding, two sore thumbs, a terrible case of laserfingers, and all my patience later:

Bonus shadows on the walls and ceiling from the red light:

EDIT: one more:

141 Likes

Truly Amazing!

1 Like

Mind boggling. I can’t even begin to envision how that is assembled.

2 Likes

S l o w l y. :wink:

10 Likes

Wow, it not only looks stunning, but the reflections on the wall are astonishing too!

2 Likes

Totally breathtaking !!!:star_struck:

1 Like

Awesome… I wonder how it’d look in acrylic.

6 Likes

It’d be cool I’m sure but my poor fingers need a break :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Holy smokes! What a labor of love. To me it looks kind of Moorish in style.

1 Like

Looks like a giant diatom. In a geometric organic way. Very cool!

2 Likes

Funny you mention diatoms. I’ve been making geometric things like this for a few years, first with cardstock on my cricut, and now with ply. I’ve always called them “creatures” for that reason. :slight_smile:

Embrace the pain!

Actually figured you’d say that, I just wanted to put ideas in your head and see how long it’d take before you gave in and did it anyway. Because I think it’d look awesome.

1 Like

I though about making only the connectors clear, but decided against it, due to scale. I wasn’t sure acrylic would have enough flex to handle the build process.

As it stands this took 2.5 very tightly packed (probably 95% +/- usage) sheets of birch ply. I’m not sure I have enough acrylic laying around to even make just the connectors, which were one full sheet by themselves.

1 Like