Getting the hang of it

My Glowforge is two weeks old today! When I got her I’d had zero experience with any design software so this has been a steep learning curve for me. I am so proud of myself that I had to share a couple of creations I designed from scratch.

They are made on PG material which I am rapidly running out of, and I’m all the way up in Canada. So as an aside, if any Canadians know of good suppliers of 1/8 walnut, cherry or maple please let me know!

39 Likes

Wow those are beautiful great job, I am also a newbie trying to learn the ropes. I work at a library we are going to let customers come in to design projects as well.

5 Likes

Not sure about their prices as I have never ordered from them but Trotec has what you need:

https://www.engraving-supplies.ca

5 Likes

You are a fast study it seems as your designs are terrific. I concur about Trotec. I have ordered from them in the US and their products are excellent.

2 Likes

Thanks! I will look them up :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Gosh, you’re doing a great job! It took me forever to get to the point you are at.

4 Likes

It’s so inspiring to see a new owner learning to design for themselves and you’re off to an awesome start. Kudos to you!

4 Likes

Also check KJP Hardwood in Ottawa.

3 Likes

I agree

2 Likes

Wow—-only 2 weeks!! Looking forward to seeing many more creations from you.

Welcome to the community!!

3 Likes

Well done! Keep on lasering on!

3 Likes

Those are spectacular!! Thanks for sharing!

1 Like

Lookin good!

1 Like

I’m impressed! I am a novice with design software as well. I’ve had my GF for 5 months and I have yet to do a design from scratch. My day will come. I promise.

1 Like

Very nice! I love the little plexiglass charms in them. I’ve yet to design anything myself, so am amazed that these came from a “novice.” Oh, and I just saw the wording on the elephant one - so very special! Great job!

3 Likes