Glow forge Shop

My first post so be gentle.
Why am I unable to purchase Proof Grade materials prior to the GF printer arriving (due May 18 2018)
Between now and my May delivery I would like to order materials instead of waiting weeks for an International delivery after I have received the printer and setup an account etc.

Thanks,
Ron
(Australia)

unless things have changed, which is possible, you should be able to order once your “golden email” arrives and you accept the terms.

I’m sure somebody will correct me if I’m wrong :wink:

1 Like

I honestly don’t know the reasoning behind this but it looks to be a logistics thing like slowly turn up the heat instead of everyone let in all at once.

1 Like

OK dumb question "what is a golden email"
Guess you can tell I am a newbie.

The date on your account status is the date you’re currently anticipated to receive the email asking for your shipping address. It’s known colloquially as the golden email. The delivery window, at least for domestic orders, is 6-weeks after receiving the “golden email.”

After you receive the email, you’ll be able to access the Glowforge store. Given the delivery window, you should be able to place an order then and not have to wait beyond your GF delivery date.

2 Likes

You can order proofgrade materials before your glowforge arrives, but you do need to wait until you get an email asking for your shipping address (the “golden email”, as some people call it). Once you get that email, you will be able to order supplies. I ordered proofgrade stuff shortly after I confirmed my email address, and the proofgrade box arrived well before the glowforge.

1 Like

Not all wood products are prohibited, I order timber supplies from the USA only certain species that are at risk and the suppliers advise you of these species on their websites.
Importation of wood into Australia can be subjected to quarantine procedures.

1 Like