Has anyone done salt dough cutting?

I’m interested in making some items - and I’d like to cut salt dough… has anyone tried it? Any tips?

Welcome to the forum! I have no experience with salt dough (opening google in another tab…) but am interested in what comes of this!

I’m not enough of a chemist to know but I’d be leary of anything with significant amounts of salt because if any of the salt breaks down into its basic elements (sodium and chlorine) this would destroy your unit and be dangerous to you.

2 Likes

Short answer, no. Try a piece and smell it. Bake it and taste it.

Google is your friend.

@elsieh has done some serious work with doughs. Dunno about salt dough.

I haven’t done salt dough, only gingerbread and gumpaste. I imagine it could be done though, but I hadn’t even thought about the salt content causing issues with the laser. I wonder what effect baking has on the salt. Most recipes I have seen are 2:1 flour to salt, but I have actually never made salt dough, so I’m not sure what it’s like after baking.

The construction grade gingerbread I cut is very hard once baked, and it cuts through well enough, although you have to do a lot of testing to find reliable settings. Even then, it can vary due to how humidity affects the baked piece and how thick it is.

Sorry, I know that isn’t terribly helpful! But I would love to see what you end up doing with it!

The key fact in any new material consideration.

2 Likes

I’m not sure how much energy it takes to actually produce free radical chlorine gas from NaCl but it’s going to be a lot. Salt melts at 1,474°F and boils at 2,669°F, and I’m not even sure that breaks the bonds. Any chemists in the house?

Hmm:

https://www.quora.com/If-salt-contains-chlorine-why-isnt-chlorine-gas-released-when-you-pour-salt-into-boiling-water

2 Likes