Having difficulty dividing up color on paths in Illustrator

Hi,
I’ve bought some vector images in Adobe stock but there are areas that I want to cut and other areas that I want to engrave. I can’t seem to separate the paths to do different colors without redrawing them.

For example, I want to engrave/score the pistil of the flower. I’m new with Illustrator so maybe this is easy to do but I can’t figure it out by playing with it!

Thank you!

Yeah, that would be somewhat complex to do in Illustrator alone. (It can be done but it will take a while.)

What I would probably attempt is to just create a raster image to do the engraving, and that requires Photoshop if you have it. But it’s going to be a LOT quicker.

1. Open the image in Photoshop.
  2. Use the Magic Wand tool to select the area enclosed by the outlines.
  3. Create a New Layer.
  4. Go in with the Paintbrush and paint the areas that you want to be engraved. You won’t need to be particularly careful since all of the outlines are already captured by the selection.
  5. When it looks the way you want it to look, Hide the bottom layer with the outline on it. That should leave you with just the engraved areas and a transparent background.
  6. Save the file as a PNG file.

Then you:

Open the original file in AI.
Drag the PNG file onto the open artboard and let it go.
Embed the engraving image into the file. (Select it, then click on Embed Image, at the top.)
Align the engraving over the outlines the way you want it.
Then Save the File as an SVG. (If you need the correct settings for that…they are listed here:

That should work. :slightly_smiling_face:

4 Likes

Thank you Jules, I’ll give it a try…I’m actually much better with Photoshop so it’s nice to know I can use that!

1 Like