Help with AI

I am trying to make a bunch of pins for the nurses in our OB unit (I am a Certified Nurse Midwife). I am not well versed in AI and am trying to get multiple images into one to then upload to the Dashboard so it is quicker to make multiple copies. How do I do this and I am sorry if I am not explaining this well.alllllNDBACK . When I get this into the program it says it can’t cut these because it is a bitmap. PLEASE HELP!

I didn’t see any image in your post, however, using the new offset tool for each pin would enable you to have a cut line for each.

1 Like

Thanks. I don’t know why the image didn’t show. I am so confused. Is another program easier?

Some people like Inkscape, some use Affinity Design and many use AI. The laser cuts vector images, and you have a bitmap which is going to engrave. The offset tool gives you a quick way to cut around a bitmap. Select your bitmap image and then the outline tool in the dashboard (looks like a mountain outlined). You can choose the amount of offset. The line created by the outline tool will be a cut or score line.

1 Like

If you want to upload your AI file there are several of us that would be happy to help. I’m assuming that would be OK since you tried uploading an SVG of it.

Northdakota OB pins.ai (676.7 KB)
So I am wanting to cut out the North Dakota state outline and engrave the rest on it. Thanks for any help.

So a few questions and things you can try.

1. You need to embed the image file. Select it and in the Properties Panel you’ll see the option to embed
  2. You have a white graphic of the stethoscope/fetus. What is the plan for that? Engrave?
  3. I don’t have your font, but that isn’t any big deal
  4. You can try Save your image as an SVG again. Make sure you use the settings below for the SVG file.