Help with Inkscape (removing one of the paths that make a line)

I am trying to cut out a gear. I understand that each line is basically 2 paths which is causing my GF to appear as if it is doing 2 passes. I have looked and looked but I cannot figure out how to remove one of the paths to get a quicker and cleaner cut.

Upload the file and maybe we can help. It’s a bit vague as it is.

In Inkscape just select the object select break apart in paths and then hit Union, that will leave you with just one line in most cases.

2 Likes

I just tried that and I get a filled in black gear. Sorry but I a a complete novice and this and am just trying to self teach along the way.

It basically gave me one set of nodes on the outline of the gear. I lost all of the inner structure.

I tried posting the file but it looks like it just posted the image not the actual file. I am feeling very stupid right now because I can’t seem to figure anything out.

Try zipping the svg and attaching that. Trust me you aren’t stupid, discourse is notorious for bad svg handling.

A filled black gear is a good thing, that means you have just one line, when you load it you could either engrave and have that hole or if you cut it will just cut it out.

I was not thinking about a hole in the center so if there was one you need to do the outside and the hole separately and then make sure the hole is above the outside in the list of parts and select both and hit difference under paths, then it should be filled except for the hole in the center, You can make the area filled or not or any color and the outline any color or thickness but the GFUI will not care much, Cut will cut it and engrave will engrave it.

gear help.zip (23.6 KB)

I am trying to get pieces like these and I do but I am basically double cutting each line since it is doing a line on each side of the path.

1 Like