Hospital reviewed medical shield work prototyping with PANFAB

Hello all! I am an engineer with PANFAB (Greater Boston Pandemic Fabrication Team) and I want to share with you that we are using the Glowforge to laser cut the shield designs and the foam head pads for medical shields :slight_smile: We started with the Prusa design and modded it based directly from hospital feedback pending IRB. Needless to say, I was VERY happy to have access to such a device to allow me to protoype without traveling!

Shield PETG was cut on the forge along with the EVA.

This iteration is an older one closer to the orig. Prusa mod (Not approved for use / top is too open for hospitals liking + shield must wrap around more if possible) but I will share the completed model once OKed.

90934538_309150260067787_8104425488790847488_n|375x500

26 Likes

Wonderful work you are doing! And I’m glad to see you are protecting your cat.

3 Likes

Fantastic!

What is that foam you are using? and is it open or closed cell?

Just north of Boston and working with Lowell Makes on similar projects. We’ve started fabricating the head pieces (solid w/out the Prusa holes) out of acrylic. Just something else to consider. I’m trying to get some acrylic donations right now from places like sign shops and framers because the pieces don’t need to be very big.

Are you using EVA for the head pads?

how can other glowforgers help/Like myself.

2 Likes

Ditto the comment above, is there a way we can help?

2 Likes

There are at least 5 active threads on this already, including:

1 Like

I’d try to connect with others local to you. But you could start cranking out Face Shields if a local hospital wants them.

3DForCovid.com could use all the support we can get. We are producing shields, but not enough to meet demands. If you have the ability to make and ship halos or clear shield components, we will do the assembly, packaging, delivering etc.