How do I align and space cut out holes

I am new to Glowforge, and I’m working on a sign design in Inkscape. My problem is not knowing how to space the cut out holes. I need 4 holes on the bottom of my rectangular sign like this (imagine the “O” as the hole: O…O…O…O (the spaces between 1st & 2nd - 3rd & 4th should be 7 1/2 inches, the space between 2nd & 3rd should be 1 inch)
I feel like its a simple solution that is staring me in the face, but I cannot figure it out!

There are lots of ways to do this. Here’s a simple one.

The key here is that you say “the spaces between” your holes. You may mean between their centers, but I am going to assume you mean the edges. The technique is trickier this way, so I figure it’ll be a good example.

This is by no means the most efficient or smartest way to do it, it’s a simple brute force thing that will get the job done.

Start by making some basic shapes:
A blue circle to be your hole. You didn’t specify so I assume 1/4" diameter.
A yellow rectangle, 7.5" wide.
A red rectangle, 1" wide.

Now turn on smooth node snapping, follow the purple arrows.:

Snap two copies of your circle to your 7.5" rectangle:
1…

Group those circles, and copy that group, now you have 2 sets of 2 holes at 7.5" gap between their outside edge. Now, snap those groups to your 1" red rectangle:

And your holes are exactly where you want them. Ditch your rectangles.

Piece of cake. It’s the dumbest method, but it works and is fast.

As for how to do it for gaps between centers… you can use the same method snap the centers to the corners of your rectangles… but at that point, there’s a faster way, using paste in place and then adding +7.5 to your X position, etc etc. Hmm, I guess I’ll do screencaps for that too, one sec.

8 Likes

thank you so much!!! I will give this a try!

Ok, so starting fresh: make your circle.