How do you cut out a scanned footprint with details

Hi there,

I’m relatively new to using the glowforge. This community has been a lifesaver for me.

I really want to be able to cut out my babys footprints, leaving some of the detailed lines from the scanned image, but im not sure how to do that.

I have tried everything. Im using inkscape.

Do you have any recommendations on how to adjust the image so as to get some of the fine details without all the mini dots after scanning?

Thank you for your help!

3 Likes

Welcome to the forums @alidewji
Some screenshots or an example of what you’re working with would help us help you!

Do you want to engrave it on to wood?

If I had an image like:

I’d probably draw an outline around this (for the cut-line) and engrave this.

7 Likes

Welcome.
Did you do the scan on the Glowforge or get your digital footprint photo another way?

1 Like

Thank you so much for your responses.

I’m attaching three pictures. One of a scanned image and two of what I’m hoping it to look like, which isn’t my image - just something I found online.

2 Likes

Oops sorry. I forgot to add…I scanned them separately and also scanned on glowforge bed. I’ve tried it all!

going to want to bump the levels, contrast, brightness… That’ll get something closer to what you are looking for to engrave. But you’ll also need to use inkscape or illustrator (or another vector program) to outline the feet to cut.

Here’s a start with the engrave part.

6 Likes

I’d suggest using a ‘trace bitmap’ or ‘image trace’ technique to turn those feet into vectors, e.g., Inkscape tutorial: Tracing bitmaps | Inkscape

You could just cut those vectors out and have a pretty nice piece.
Here’s what my first try in Illustrator looked like:

Or if you wanna get fancier use these vectors to create an outline, and engrave the interior…

3 Likes

I just tried this, to learn about clipping paths and stuff in Illustrator, and here’s an example for you:
FeetWithTrace.svg.zip (1010.8 KB)