How does GF decide what to save in our catalog?

I found this article in the tips category. It sort of explains how things work, in terms of what’s saved/what isn’t. It explains it - which is cool, but I see a lot of this as a workaround. The user should be able to save the state of their design at any moment in time, saving the artwork added after the initial upload, as well as the initial upload.