How much to sell?

Hey Glowforge members,

Here are the pictures of what I made. I have no experience or idea about how much to sell each frame. Square frame 16" x 16" and rectangle 9" x 16" and 9" x 23" also 1" x 3" wood frame and close up pix on wood frame. How much should I sell?

Thanks, David

36 Likes

I have no idea on pricing, but I had to say theyā€™re very nice!

3 Likes

Yep! Very pretty! :slightly_smiling_face:

2 Likes

Lots of Prior discussions on pricing but the short answer is if youā€™re not embarrassed your charging too little!

8 Likes

I have an artistic slant, but Iā€™m not a business man. I have a lot of talents in life but making money has never been one of them. I almost always would undersell anything I did.

5 Likes

The advice i once got was 3 times your materials cost.

5 Likes

They are all gorgeous. As presents to friends and family, they would be greatly treasured

However, when selling., one thing I have learned is the need to differentiate from those who mass produce stuff and sell it for less than you can buy the materials. In the right circumstances with folk in love with Quilting they could do better than otherwise, but in designing generally one has to reach farther than going where the software leads, Really beautiful results can be achieved, but those who mass produce stuff will do the same and they can flood far more than you can. Even doing cleaner work with greater perfection will be a lot more work that will not be noticed unless it is extreme and you build a name for that extreme

All that said, I have not found a great answer for myself, and perhaps have pushed too hard trying to push that envelope, and those designs as framed art, boxes, and coasters that anyone seeing that look knows it is you might be the real success plan.

4 Likes