I have a dream: to engrave photos on wood with high contrast

Goodmorning everyone :slight_smile:
First of all I apologize if I make mistakes in English. I am writing from Italy and I need your help :slight_smile:
I have been using my glowforge basic for almost 3 years but I have only now decided to focus on photo engravings on wood.

I used a sheet of Baltic birch wood, 0.039 ‘’ (3mm) thick.
The parameters I used for the engraving are these:
Speed: 1400
Power: 40
Grayscale: convert to dots
Pattern density: 0-100.
Lines per inch: 225 (Lines per cm: 90).

I am attaching the image I wanted to engrave and the result I got.

As you can see the engraving is very light, I would like to have it darker and with more contrast.
Do you have any suggestions for engraving parameters?
Do you think poplar wood is better?

thanks in advance for the time you will devote to me.

If you like, follow me on Instagram, I would be very happy
My name is: personalizzami.laser

thank you all
See you soon
David!

4 Likes

First off, you have started with excellent subject matter! Next, use a photo editor to lighten the lightest parts and darken the darkest parts (just a bit). Then, up the overall contrast little by little so you don’t “blow by” the sweet spot of just-right.

Test various settings for depth of engrave “color” using just the part of the photo with the faces. Once you are satisfied, try a full print.

Another thing comes to mind: do a light engrave without upping the contrast, load a duplicate file with higher contrast and engrave again. It’s sort of like stacking astronomy photos to show details that would otherwise be washed out.

Looking forward to your final effort(s). You will probably make several that are wonderful but different.

5 Likes