Inkscape - help!

I am an Inkscape newbie, and even after looking up tutorials online I still am stumped. Can someone help me solve this riddle?

The border of the flowers (inside the square) should be engraved or scored, so as not to cut the flowered section completely off. (See the black border in Inkscape photo below.) However, the GF app keeps changing the border to be the same color as the rest of the flower to be “cut” (red).

How can I get GF to just engrave the black border?

picture 1 is what it looks like in Inkscape,
picture 2 is what it looks like in GF
Picture 3 is what happens when I tell GF to engrave the border instead of cut it (it fills in a whole area?)

Thanks in advance!

Can upload them by pressing this button or dragging them onto the text field.

3 Likes

You should be able to change the settings once it’s loaded into GF. If it’s set to cut, just click on the box and change it to score or engrave if it’s a vector image. Raster images are a bit different.

1 Like

They won’t be the same color in the Glowforge app that they were in Inkscape. They’ll either show up as cut or engrave, based on whether they’re vector outlines or filled shapes (or raster images). Scores always have to be set manually.

The “red to cut, black to engrave” rule is for some other brand of laser – Glowforge doesn’t work that way. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Thank you both ~ hopefully the pics above help explain my problem better.

The problem arises when I try to manually set the border to “engrave”

1 Like

You can only engrave filled shapes (and white is a fill color). But if you want the border to look like it’s engraved, set the operation to Score and adjust the power/speed to get the depth you want. If you want a wider line after you try it once, just set the focus for the Score operation to .5" and it will do a defocused score which will be wider since the beam will be focused above the material and spread out by the time it hits the bed.

2 Likes