Inlay - second try

Second attempt at inlay. This was for my duet partner’s Taylor 916.

This time I used thin ebony veneer over 1/16 walnut veneer, with mother of pearl inlay. And of course I had to make a gift box. :wink:

Still not perfect, but feeling better about this try.

62 Likes

I think it looks great!

5 Likes

Thank you! :heart: Luckily we have a bunch of stringed instruments for me to practice on!!

3 Likes

That’s amazing! I’m just getting into doing this as far as a research topic for future projects, did you use any specific resources for researching how to do this or is it something you just kept trying at until you got it working right?

3 Likes

@techquest89 I spent a lot of time thinking it through before I even got my GF. I also watched videos on kerfing and marquetry. I think the key for me was finding that thin MOP (and next try abalone) veneer. It really is thin enough to cut with scissors. I got it off Etsy from a shop called Sea Your Dreams.

This second try, I designed a little better. My first try, I had spots in the design that were too thin and the MOP cracked, so I had to piece it together in one place. This one didn’t crack. I also had a slightly thicker MOP veneer this time and was able to use 3M adhesive and masking which helped prevent scorching.

6 Likes

@techquest89 Also, my first try, I messed up when I did the pocket inlay (I didn’t know that was what it was called until @evansd2 sent me some great info). That time, I messed up my steps and adhered the wood veneers together before I cut, so I had to engrave the design.

This time, I cut the outer truss rod shape out of the walnut veneer, then cut the outer shape and inner design shape out of the ebony before I adhered them together. Then I dropped the MOP inlay into the pocket.

5 Likes