Interlocking parametric die help

Hello. I’m new to a lot of this–Glowforge, Inkscape, lasers–and am making a 12-sided die with a parametric SVG pattern I drew. It came out well as a first test, but I’d like the sides to hold together with friction. I thought that the laser cutter was so precise, that that’s a normal assembly method?

The cuts are loose when assembled. I’m probably not accounting for something basic. How do I cut this for a tight fit?

I’m attaching a picture and the SVG file. Thanks for your thoughts.
Zack
dice%20test%20angles-prep_text

25 Likes

What you are looking for is the search term ‘Kerf compensation’. I use a value of .007 on medium proofgrade for a fit that has to be tapped together with a tool. For something like a die that’s going to get bounced around, I would recommend CA (Super glue) to consolidate it.

6 Likes

Yeah, welcome to the wonderful world of kerf adjusting.

You didn’t say what program* you used to create the parametric model, but there are methods for kerf adjusting your designs in several of the major design programs written up in the Matrix.

*If it was Fusion 360, you can install the DXF for Laser plugin and it will adjust for kerf when you export the DXF file.

https://apps.autodesk.com/FUSION/en/Detail/Index?id=7634902334100976871&appLang=en&os=Win64

The Matrix for 2D Design software:

(Kerf Adjusting Tutorials are currently located on line 115)

8 Likes

Thanks. I just drew it in Inkscape–I’ve done some modeling for a 3D printer, but I haven’t gotten into 3D modeling yet for laser cuts.

1 Like

Thanks. I’ll search for more info and try your tips too.

2 Likes

Kerf is the measurement of the amount of material removed by the laser. The laser “cuts” by vaporizing material - it’s not much, but it’s enough to prevent identical “fingers” from locking together.