Issue with Catan file i got from Glowforge gifts keeps saying Filled shapes must have closed paths

I am a total noob and i have been researching this error [Filled shapes must have closed paths]. I downloaded all of the free Glowforge gifts and there was a Settlers of Catan gameboard in there. I successfully printed the first 5 pieces, but when i got to pdf 6 and pdf 7, everytime i upload the artwork and go to print, the print stops and gives me the error above. I tried to research and see how to fix issue. I brought file into Adobe Illustrator, but no luck i keep getting the issue. Any help would be super appreciated.

If anyone wanted to take a look at the file, if you go to apps.glowforge.com and login. You will see the gift up in the right corner. When i clicked on that , they had a bunch of free stuff for download. If you look at the 3rd thing down. Its the files i am having trouble with.

“What’s better family fun than being together? This beauty of a gameboard is perfect for that hours-long strategy and dice game you love! Download your Catan board.”

If anyone downloads it. The issues as i mentioned above are on
Catan006.pdf and
Catan007.pdf

Everything else prints fine.

Thanks
Jonathan

Yeah, there’s some weirdness going on in the vectors. If you rasterize them, they’ll print fine.

So i selected the whole picture and clicked rasterize in illustrator, and everything looks like it got distorted when i did that. Will it print in the nice detail before i hit rasterize or will it come out weird when printing. Sorry i am really new to this, i know photoshop really well and trying to understand illustrator and vectors better.

Thanks
Jonathan

I’m not an Illustrator user so I can’t really tell you anything for sure on that…I don’t know why it would distort when rasterizing, though. Maybe an AI user will pipe up with an explanation! Or you could try printing one at a smaller scale on some scrap just to see how it turns out…

1 Like