Issues engraving a scanned image

Hey folks, fairly new Glowforge Pro owner with an issue. I am trying to scan and engrave some older recipe cards for my mother. When I scan using the Glowforge, it engraves, but I want to modify the image before I engrave. The file I send to the Glowforge App comes up as normal, I have an engrave and a cut, but when I send to the Glowforge, it goes through the motions like it’s engraving, but isn’t actually doing anything, just spittin’ blanks!

What I have done:

Scan image in on my scanner
Modify in Photoshop
Import into Illustrator, saving as an SVG, embed the image yada yada

I’m no designer, I am an IT guy (hardware, networking, server administration), but I am sooooo not up to snuff on this design stuff. I’ve attached the file I am working with. Any assistance in learning this stuff is GREATLY appreciated!

test2

Hi @phrackattack welcome to the forum!

We can’t see the image in your SVG because the forum strips any embedded images from SVGs. If you want to zip up the SVG and re-attach it here, we’ll be able to look at it.

That said, it sounds like you’re scanning something (which creates a raster/bitmap image), editing it in photoshop (the result still being a raster/bitmap), then bringing it to Illustrator and exporting as an SVG…

This last step isn’t really doing anything useful. It’s still a raster/bitmap, it’s just embedded inside an SVG.

You can probably skip that last step, and just drop the JPG/PNG into GFUI (app.glowforge.com).
And engrave that.

Let me know if that description helps at all and/or update your SVG so we can have a look, and we can probably help you figure this out.

Good luck!

5 Likes

So I sent the PNG over just to test and it’s actually engraving, YOU ROCK. It’s kind of faint, so I think I may need to touch it up in PS to darken it, but I am at least making progress! I am engraving on 1/8 BB from Woodpecker, and my settings are attached.