Jatoba (Brazilian Cherry)

My friend, a flooring installer, gave me 5mm thick Jabota (Brazilian Cherry) and at a lost where to start working with it after figuring out the laser part

This is my first time working with unfinished wood and first non proofgrade hardwood. Once cut and hopefully not to have a yucky charred edge, I know I need to sand and finish it. What brand of electrical Sanders and finishing oils/stains you use?

I will probably make jewelry for before making something outside my comfort zone.

1 Like

Well for small projects i use a Ryobi palm sander and as for the stains and oils, i take a scrape piece and try the ones i think will look good, Its all trial and error and personal preference.

3 Likes

Cut up a scrap piece into a 6” long piece. Mark off 1 inch squares and try assorted finishes. If you are using hardwood, try a stain or finish such as boiled linseed oil AFTER YOU LASER. Some finishes are not laser safe. Hardwoods generally look good with stains, waxed, and if you are comfortable, resin

1 Like

So many finish options! I’ve had good luck with Watco danish oil. For a super smooth finish try wet sanding down to 600 grit and then finish with a paste wax. Here’s a quick summary that can lead down an huge rabbit hole of finishing techniques:

4 Likes

As to cutting, make a bunch of lines half inch apart, each a different color. Put a piece of wood in, import the lines, then try various powers/speeds / passes on each one to see what gives you the best cut.

1 Like

Yes! I’m not a woodworker so finishing wood is new to me and I’m a but overwhelmed. I always thought I’d stay with prefinished wood from laser material suppliers but the I saw what other people were doing with beautiful raw wood

I guess that works on hardwoods as well? Except for Black Palm, there are not many palm tree species we use. :wink: