Laser Art - Aspidochelone (what?)

Aspidochelone is the mythical name for a turtle or a whale that carries a city on it’s back. It inspired my latest work of “laser-cut” art. I finished this piece on the weekend. I’m proud of it and I want to show it off a bit.

You can see more details of it on my blog at: http://polarbrainfreezethecut.blogspot.ca/.

I’m not very good at taking pictures of my art pieces yet. There was a lot of glare from the overhead lights. Any tips on taking better pictures?

26 Likes

Diffused natural daylight works the best for us - use a sheet of tracing paper, vellum or even white plastic to spread out the light and remove most of the glare.

Do you know Photoshop or some other photo editing software? Pretty easy to adjust the perspective, correct the exposure, saturation and color balance there…

Very nice work, polarbrainfreeze.

If you want ultra low budget solutions: White sheets. Put some behind your work for a nice backdrop, and drape some over any lights to reduce glare. Turning off the overhead lights and using some desk lamps pointed at the ceiling (and thus illuminating after the bounce) is also pretty effective.

1 Like

Really lovely work and an interesting subject matter

This is my DIY copy-stand solution for taking photos of fine art and other small items. It is a converted photo enlarger.

The lamps are on bendy arms. The upper bracket has a captured bolt to mount a camera at 90 degrees to the work surface. The surface itself is frosted/translucent, for under-lighting if desired.
The bulbs are photographer’s daylight fluorescents. They are quite old, these days you should be able to find equivalent led bulbs that would last longer and cost less to run.

Angle the two arms at 45* to the art to cancel shadows, or vary the light angles to highlight shadows and create contrast.

For the makers, look at a photography supplier for ideas… or to spend the monies:slight_smile:

2 Likes