Laser safe cutting boards

Hello,

I am new to Glowforge and waiting for my unit to arrive, but in the meantime I am doing some research…I see many posts on the forum about engraving cutting boards. Is there any way to know which cutting boards for purchase are laser-safe to engrave?

Thanks!

If they’re solid wood, they’re as laser safe as any other wood.

If they use glue or a coating, they should list the type on the packaging, and there are so many “is X laser safe” that you’re likely to find someone who has the MSDS or equivalent info

If they’re a plastic, it’s the same as with a glue/coating. Find out what type of plastic and then do the search based on that - quick answer is if it’s got chlorine (PVC) in it, don’t laser it (it’ll eat the interior of your laser!)

5 Likes

Yep, agree with @deirdrebeth, any wood is fine. (If it’s a cutting board, it’s food safe.) Bamboo is a popular option because it’s not very expensive. Slate and stone or tile are fine for cheese boards. (I would avoid anything plastic. You’re not going to know what it’s composed of.)

Anything organic/natural is generally safe to engrave, so wood, stone, leathers, grasses, reeds, etc. but you do want to watch how the item is processed. (Veg-tanned leather as opposed to chrome-tanned, because the chemicals and glues used can be an issue, never use pressure treated lumber…they use chemicals in that.)

3 Likes

But cupric-sulfate adds a nice tang to salads!

8 Likes

I’ve noticed. :crazy_face:

4 Likes

Thank you @Jules and @deirdrebeth. My plan then is to definitely try to see if they will list both the glue and any potential coating since both of those could be a problem, though perhaps there may be less chance of them using a coating if it is a cutting board.

If anyone has ever done this and has a link to a product they have purchased that they have researched already, that would be handy, but no worries if not as it would be a fun research project anyway.

Thanks!

2 Likes