Learning F360: Watering Can Sprinkler Head

We took the O’Twins to the big box store today to get some flowers for the backyard. They sighted some Paw Patrol watering cans and, as they’re Paw Patrol nuts, we had to get them. Wasn’t until after we got home that we noticed a problem:

One of them was missing the sprinkler head cap!

No problem, I thought. I’ll just whip one up on the Glowforge! Then I remembered that, sadly, I do not have my Glowforge yet. But, since it should be coming before the summer is through, I thought this was a good opportunity to learn Fusion 360.

I took some measurements with my trusty digital calipers:

I’ve got some experience with Sketchup, so after less than an hour of poking around and following along with some Youtube videos, I was able to come up with a design:

I made it almost fully parametric (material thickness, overall diameter as well as the spacing of the holes) and even used the nifty circular pattern feature (the rectangular pattern feature will come in handy for the project I’m going to do next, a fully parametric version of the Storage Box With Drawers that was posted under Project Inspriation a little while ago.)

After a little more google-fu I was able to export it to a .dxf and then to an .svg:

I’ve posted the F360 file here, if anyone would like to check it out. I’d love feedback about better/faster ways to do it!

And that’s about as far as I can go for now, except to use F360’s render function to dream about what I’ll be able to make someday soon!

49 Likes

The file looks good. Technically it is perfect as far as I can tell. There is a “best practice” thing though. Create a component right off and put the body in it. This doesn’t really matter with this file but as things grow more complex, say that box with drawers, then it will be a life saver. It is mostly a thing of planning ahead to keep things neat and where you can find things in the outline tree.

13 Likes