Leather engraving advice would be a life saver...been gone a long while

Haven’t used my gf for over a year due to illness. Slow start with a project I’ve done many times before (new GFUI isnt making things any easier).

Could someone please suggest settings to engrave a veg tanned leather journal cover. I’m doing this for a friend and do not have anything to practice with. I have never worked with leather.

Different friend needs acacia wood cutting board engraved and I have the same problem… nothing to practice with and i have never done this before. My year off and the new GFUI isn’t making anything easier so if anyone is willing to make a suggestion for either of these issues it would be greatly appreciated.

Sincere Thanks!

2 Likes

The automatic proofgrade settings for both would be a good place to start. Choose a leather from the offerings and try the engrave settings. Same for the cutting board. choose a wood from the list, and if it isn’t deep/dark enough for you, as long as the material hasn’t moved you can run it again.

This is why you save scraps! :+1:

10 Likes

Thanks. I have zero knowledge about leather and am trying to help a friend whose secret santa gift, a custom leather journal with initials has not arrived. I don’t have any leather scraps because I never worked with leather before. But as far as wood and acrylic are concerned, I have enough scraps to start a store, lol.

2 Likes

The other day I had some random Amazon junk leather, and the Proofgrade SD engrave setting looked great. It made a very dark mark, but the leather was light colored so there was adequate contrast.

3 Likes

Leather is literally my most common material - and yeah, use the PG settings. If you’re only engraving, use the thin PG leather - and then use Set Focus to get the depth correct.
If you’re cutting, expect to run a 2nd cut line after the first.