Load and Save Settings

I created a small bookmarklet plugin to allow for saving and loading project settings.

You can find it here, along with instructions for use:
GF Toolkit Bookmarklet

Please note that this is something I kind of hacked together to provide save/load functionality until Glowforge releases their own from the Hopper®™. As such, I don’t guarantee it’ll work for you, or in all situations, but it is working for me. Please read the entire page of info before trying to use this tool.

Disclaimer: I don’t work for Glowforge, and this code is not oficially supported by Glowforge.

Why did I make this? I had created a fairly complex design to use for testing materials, and when loaded into the UI everything was out of order, and the 37+ operations needed to be manually configured. I found this took me, on average, about 30-40 minutes, so I wasn’t able to run as many tests as I’d like. Being a web developer by trade, I figured I could create my own export/import tool.

A day or two later, and I have something that works (for me at least). Now I can load my design, load my settings file, and print, all in a few minutes. Whee!

Maybe as things come up, I’ll add more to this (hence calling it a toolkit), we’ll see.

Use with caution, double check everything after loading a saved settings file, and if you run into issues, let me know. I don’t, however, guarantee I’ll fix them :wink:

36 Likes

Thanks for taking the time and doing this, and then posting the web app for everyone to use.

Wow! Thanks so much for creating and sharing this! Can’t wait to give it a go!

Nicely done. It’s worth mentioning that using this will refer back to your server for a js file, and that in theory you (or some enterprising bad guy) could change the code to do something untoward at any time.

Looking at the javascript in question:

https://elusive-concepts.com/projects/gf-toolkit/gftk.js