Mac users upgraded to Catalina

To those that have a Mac only,

I am new to the Glowforge community and upgraded to Catalina for my Mac. Now I find out that Inkscape is not supported because it is a 32 bit program, and Catalina only supports 64 bit. I tried GIMP, too technically difficult to use, adobe illustrator is too expensive for a monthly or yearly license for a crafter. Is my best option to downgrade to Mojave, which supports 32 bit programs, or is there another option?

1 Like

You could try the Inkscape 1.0 beta which is 64 bit compliant:

https://inkscape.org/release/inkscape-1.0beta1/

9 Likes

Oh, and just to clarify, GIMP is a bitmap program like Photoshop, whereas Inkscape is a vector program like Illustrator. Ideally you would want to learn both types of programs to get the most out of your Glowforge.

5 Likes

Another excellent option for us mac users is Affinity Design. It is Catalina-compliant and is only $50 for a permanent license. Check out https://affinity.serif.com/en-us/designer/ for more info. Oh, and there is a free trial available.

There are a number of AD experts in the Community that use it for all their GF vector designs.

10 Likes

cynd11

you are awesome. I downloaded the beta and it opens and appears to function as expected. I have a lot of experience with auto cad, smart sketch and other similar
programs and can make this work. Thanx bunches. Can I ask another question?

Some of the community files are often loaded as chromium and I get a warning about “may dance” my system. Do you know of a work around or solution to this issue as a Mac user?

I am actually Rose’s husband and trying to get this working before she gets back from visiting our grandkids. A surprise and gift for her - Ken

1 Like

You got her a surprise Glowforge? You are awesome!

Sorry, I don’t know the answer to your question—I’m still on Mojave and I’ve never gotten that message.

2 Likes