Made some bookmarks with inlay, marquetry, and epoxy resin for my bookclub christmas event

My bookclub is having a White Elephant book exchange, almost all of our meetings in recent years have been online but this was going to be in person and the first time I saw people in the flesh for at least a year. So I decided to make a gift for everyone in addition to the books I was bringing for the exchange.

Naturally for a book club I thought of making some sort of bookmark. I’m quite fond of marquetry and find the glowforge does this pretty well so I set about designing a book club themed christmas bookmark.

I used a few pieces of domestic exotic veneer (or at least that’s what the pack I got from amazon called it :smiley: I’m no expert on wood types) and laminated them for the main body of the bookmark. I then made a few pieces of different woods in different colours to make books and presents and other holiday themed things.

The veneer is really thin and quite fragile and it took several iterations of design to get it all to fit and not just splinter appart the moment I took it from the glowforge. Once I’d dialed in the power and sizes and I’d got a prototype I ran off a batch of the parts. I used three layers for each usually going for a darker wood on the two outsides with a lighter wood inside.

I decided to do most of the features in veneer pieces but then for the stars I went with some mother of pearl powder adding a bit of superglue to bind it into the recess shape.

For the tree I initially wanted to make it cut through all three layers then filled with epoxy resin to achieve a sort of stained glass sort of look. However I wasn’t sure it would hold together with that large a hole in the body given the fragility of the veneer. So I only made the hole in two of the three parts. It also meant I could make the little baubles as a separate piece and just glue them in before adding the epoxy.

So then I just needed to assemble the pieces.